Quick Links

Useful Links

Birchwood Nursery School

Curriculum Overview

At Birchwood Nursery we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage - a statutory framework which sets the standards of an integrated approach to early learning, development and care for children from birth to 5 years.

This is a vital stage of development. All children deserve happy, active, fun and exciting early experiences that support their development and learning needs. It builds a confidence that can prepare them for future learning and success.

We follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) which is the Statutory Framework for Educating of Children from birth to 5 years old.

Parents Guide to the Early Years Foundation Stage



The Areas of Learning and Development

There are seven areas of learning and development that shape educational programmes in Early Years settings.

The children will work towards these until the end of their reception year. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected.   At Birchwood Nursery we are laying the foundations for children’s future learning through a balance of child initiated and adult initiated play. In addition to the activities we provide, we make visits to other places of interest to extend children’s experiences. We also invite various specialists and visitors into school to support our teaching and learning. Parents are always welcome to come into school and take part in their child’s learning and to share special skills they may have!


  • Communication & Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Art & Design